A special soda

Mountain Dew, in my opinion, is the most addicting soft drink out there.

With that being said, no two cups of Mountain Dew are alike.

So how can something be so delicious, yet so inconsistent?

I think this may be one of the factors as to why it’s so addicting; you’re always chasing that magical cup of perfectly proportioned Mountain Dew.

These are some of the options you can choose when you crave Mountain Dew, and I gave my opinion on each of them.

 

THE BOTTLED DEW

Sometimes, you just crave a dew. So you go to speedway, buy a 20 ounce bottle for like a buck fifty, take a few sips, and then realize that this isn’t what you wanted. The carbonation is always way too light when it’s in a bottle, and it’s never cold enough. The plastic of the bottle doesn’t stay cold, which let’s the Mountain Dew turn to room temperature in about 10 minutes.

You’d be better off pouring it into a cup filled to the brim with ice – for some reason it also helps with the carbonation (maybe it’s because you’re pouring it and making it move a bunch over the ice? Not sure, I’m no scientist).

Let’s be honest, they don’t put “Best served cold” on their products for nothing. If a Dew is warm, it’s not a Dew.

 

THE CANNED DEWUnknown-1

Ah. My good old friend. This was likely the first way you ever tried the sacred soda; at some backyard cookout in the suburbs where they just throw a bunch of twelve packs

into big plastic bins filled with ice and water. You probably picked one of those shimmering green cans out without your parent’s knowing, because they had never let you try it in the past.

I prefer the canned Dew over the bottled Dew almost 10 times out of 10, with rare exceptions being times where I need to screw a lid back on my drink so it won’t spill.

The metal of the can is good at conducting heat, or rather cold – I don’t really know how to write that, but you know what I mean. Metal can stay cold for a while.

This is probably the most obvious difference between the bottle and the can, but it’s definitely worth mentioning. That’s why your bottles never seem to stay satisfyingly cold enough.

The canned Dew is the most consistent of the Dews. It always has that perfectly balanced lime to lemon taste. I tend to drink canned Dews when I’m super thirsty, which may contribute to my high appraisal of them. Nevertheless, canned Dews are my go to Mountain Dew.

 

THE SKYLINE DEW

Whether you like or dislike the taste of Mountain Dew, just about everyone can agree that the Mariemont Skyline’s fountain machine Mountain Dew is the best Mountain Dew around town.

Nothing satisfies me more than the cold gulp of Dew down the hatch after finishing my cheese coney.

That blue-clear translucent cup, that tint of the yellow green nectar that flows inside – stabbing your freshly unwrapped blue straw into the ice that sparkles with the Dew’s carbonation. Nothing beats that.

 

There’s a lot to love when it comes to Mountain Dew. I’m just grateful that I’m around for it.

 

2 thoughts on “A special soda

Leave a comment